Rock Fish for Beginners

Saltwater sportfishing discussion and reports for private boaters and general saltwater fishing talk.
BestFishes
Angler

Rock Fish for Beginners

Post by BestFishes »

Hello all. I'm new to rock fishing from a private boat. Will be out periodically and would love to fish the deeper spots near the 9 mile bank and along the coast like La Jolla to South Mission. I'm hoping someone could hook a brother up with coordinates anywhere from the south 9 to the 178 and inshore from there. Feel free to send a private message if you'd like it keep it DL. Thanks!

If this thread doesn't get much love, I understand. Plan A is to just look for hard bottom areas myself using sonar and the bait stick. I'm happy to share what I learn if anyone's interested. Maybe I'll hop on a 1/2 day and poach their spots :evil:
Roncador
Angler

Re: Rock Fish for Beginners

Post by Roncador »

Your asking allot. Learn to read your depth finder and set it to different depths. I would set it for 600' and head straight for the nine. The structure will be almost a maroon or brick shade and the fish will be bright red blobs. Look for mounds of structure or any spots of fish suspending over hard bottom. The reds will usually be on or right about the bottom while the chillipeppers and green stripe will usually appear as smaller fluff or sometimes in real nice balls but suspending over the bottom a decent amount. Shelf rockfish like cow cod and chillis like to hang out on steep drop offs. And although it may be a fun idea to entertain I would highly advise against hopping on one of the local half days so you can poach their spots later on. Quick way to make some enemies. Those guys are trying to make a living on those fish so it really ain't fair or cool to them. It's not like the imperial beach pipe where you can have five boats on it at a time. These little stones get pressured quick....
professionull
Mega Pro Angler

Post by professionull »